A natural regions map for Tasmania

Orchard, AE 1988 , 'A natural regions map for Tasmania' , Papers and Proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania, vol. 122, no. 2 , pp. 47-51 , doi: https://doi.org/10.26749/rstpp.122.2.47.

1988__Orchard_N...pdf | Download (185kB)
Available under University of Tasmania Standard License.

| Preview


Tasmania has been divided into 13 regions for the purpose of mapping plant distribution. Eleven of these regions are large ecogeographic zones, the other two being defined to accommodalc historic and administrative requirements of the Tasmanian Herbarium. The boundaries of all regions are defined on natural features, principally rivers and altitudinal contours. The region names are being routinely added to labes of specimens in the Tasmanian Herbarium. Very similar regions are recognised in a scheme being used by other agencies in Tasmania for nature conservation purposes, and the differences between the two schemes are discussed.

Item Type: Article
Authors/Creators:Orchard, AE
Keywords: Royal Society of Tasmania, RST, Van Diemens Land, natural history, science, ecology, taxonomy, botany, zoology, geology, geography, papers & proceedings, Australia, UTAS Library
Journal or Publication Title: Papers and Proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania
ISSN: 0080-4703
DOI / ID Number: https://doi.org/10.26749/rstpp.122.2.47
Collections: Royal Society Collection > Papers & Proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania
Additional Information:

Copyright Royal Society of Tasmania

Item Statistics: View statistics for this item

Actions (login required)

Item Control Page Item Control Page