Open Access Repository

Proceedings of the Royal Society for the month of November, 1896


Downloads per month over past year

Royal Society of Tasmania, (1896) Proceedings of the Royal Society for the month of November, 1896. Papers & Proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania. xxii-xxviii.

proc-nov-1896.pdf | Download (594kB)
Available under University of Tasmania Standard License.


The last monthly evening meeting of the session of the Royal Society
of Tasmania was held on Monday evening, November 16th when Mr. James Barnard
presided, and there was a large attendance. Apologies were read from His
Excellency the Governor and Sir James Agnew.
The following medical gentlemen were balloted for and elected members
of the Society :—E. J. S. Spark, M.B. ; J. E. Wolfhagen, M.B., CM.;
S. C. Jamieson, M.B.; H. G. H. Naylor, L.R.C.S.; R. G. Scott, M.B.,
CM.; and R. Wilmot, M.R.CS., E.
The Secretary (Mr. Alex. Morton) announced that a medical section of
the Royal Society had been formed, and Dr. Bright, the first president of
the section, would have some remarks to offer upon the subject.
Dr. Bright, on behalf of the medical section just formed, moved a vote
of thanks to the Society for the kind and generous manner in which the
Society had treated them, giving them every encouragement-. The use of
the Society's rooms had been promised them for meetings, and like a kind
parent, had voted them pocket money as well in the shape of £12 with
which to purchase certain standard medical works. The section had
started under very favourable auspices with 18 members, some of whom
had been elected that evening, and there would be others to follow.
Dr. Sprott seconded the motion, mentioning that they were alto deeply
indebted to Mr. Morton, the secretary, for the assistance he was also
giving the new medical section. He felt certain that the new section
would prove a material advantage, both to the medical men of Hobart and
the public.
The Chairman, on behalf of the members of the Royal Society generally,
reciprocated the sentiments expressed in suitable terms.
The Secretary mentioned that whilst Dr. Bright had been chosen the
first acting. president of the new section, Sir James Agnew was the first
honorary president.
The Chairman welcomed Mr. Percy Douglas and Mr. W. H, Trewenack,
two Sydney gentlemen.

Includes a list of additions to the Library of the
Royal Society of Tasmania

Item Type: Article
Authors/Creators:Royal Society of Tasmania,
Keywords: Royal Society of Tasmania, Van Diemens Land, VDL, Hobart Town, natural sciences, proceedings, records
Journal or Publication Title: Papers & Proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania
Page Range: xxii-xxviii
Collections: Royal Society Collection > Papers & Proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania
Additional Information:

In 1843 the Horticultural and Botanical Society of Van Diemen's Land was founded and became the Royal Society of Van Diemen's Land for Horticulture, Botany, and the Advancement of Science in 1844. In 1855 its name changed to Royal Society of Tasmania for Horticulture, Botany, and the Advancement of Science. In 1911 the name was shortened to Royal Society of Tasmania.

Date Deposited: 12 Feb 2013 05:02
Last Modified: 18 Nov 2014 04:48
Item Statistics: View statistics for this item

Actions (login required)

Item Control Page Item Control Page