Open Access Repository

An award 'silk' crediting students with their Associate of Arts, June 1890


Downloads per month over past year

University of Tasmania, 1890 , An award 'silk' crediting students with their Associate of Arts, June 1890 , University of Tasmania, Hobart, Tasmania.

Image (JPEG)
silk.jpg | Download (947kB)
Available under University of Tasmania Standard License.

PDF (colour print)
UT475_colour.pdf | Download (518kB)
Available under University of Tasmania Standard License.


This framed print has the names of Associates of Arts printed on white silk with blue fringed border, commemorating the first public meeting of the University of Tasmania on 25 June, 1890, at the Hobart Town Hall. Donated by Dr T Giblin. This ivory coloured 'silk' with pale blue ribbon trimming lists the names of the eight students awarded an Associate of Arts, Hobart June 1890. Students were White, Douglas; Giblin, Wilfrid; Keating, John Henry; Picken, Samuel, Hinds, Annie; Delmer, Delesford, H.C.; Hawthorn, Alfred; Pitt, Caroline and Barnard, Beatrice. They came from Hutchins School, Officer College, Launceston Church Grammar School, Hobart Ladies College and Mrs Barnards. It was an award originally offered by the Tasmanian Council of Education. The Council of Education Act (1858) set up a Council of 15 members with the power to confer the degree of Associate of Arts "on all students who have passed a satisfactory exam in such subjects as the Council appoints." In 1871 the Act was amended to allow women to sit for the Associate of Arts examination. In 1875 a Bill was passed for a University Council to take the place of the Council of Education to be an examining body only with power to confer degrees. The University (established by Act on 1 January 1890) took over the functions of the TCE, and its badge. See also Index

From University Collection UT475.

Item Type: Other
Authors/Creators:University of Tasmania,
Keywords: University of Tasmania Special and Rare Collections, University of Tasmania, first public meeting, 1890, town hall, Hobart, Associates of Arts, Wilfred W Giblin, Douglas White, John Henry Keating, Samuel Picken, Annie Hinds, Delesford Delmer, Alfred Hawthorn, Caroline Pitt, Beatrice Barnard, print, framed, list, commemorative, Index, Tasmania, UTAS,
Publisher: University of Tasmania
Collections: University of Tasmania > University of Tasmania Special Collections
Related URLs:
Item Statistics: View statistics for this item

Actions (login required)

Item Control Page Item Control Page